Tall pottery beaker by Lauder, Barum

Lauder, Barum (Barnstaple) 4 3/4 inches high pottery beaker inscribed:

‘If you cant be aisy
Beas aisey as you can’

Price £50

Contact michael@pannierantiques.com for more details

Postage and Packaging £10.00

item 032

Alexander Lauder was born in 1836. He became the head tutor at Barnstaple School of Art where Charles Hubert Brannam was a pupil. At the age of forty he founded Lauder and Smith with his brother in law W.O. Smith, a factory close to Barnstaple in North Devon. The company made bricks, tiles and terracotta pots, and experimented with art pottery.

Tags: , ,

About morgue870176

Death by Sushi' Fish can kill me. When I was very small (maybe 3 or 4 years old) my grandfather, who lost the sight of one eye from a bullet fired by a German sniper (fortunately not a very good one) during the Battle of the Somme in World War 1, wiped my face with the corner of his apron, an apron he had used to wipe his filleting knife on. He was a grocery shopkeeper who specialized in wet fish. I think I am an artist (?)
